Good Fortune

by Noni Carter | 04 January 2011
PAPERBACK
In the tradition of Copper Sun and Chains , this is the stirring tale of a girl's journey from Africa to freedom and from youth to womanhood, as recounted in this dazzling debut novel. Ayanna Bahati lives in a small African village when she is brutally kidnapped, along with her brother, and forced onto a slave ship to America. As Ayanna, renamed Anna, rises from the cotton fields to the master's house, she finds the familial love she's been yearning for in elderly Mary and Mary's son Daniel--but she is also faced with more threats to her survival. Risking everything to escape the plantation, Anna manages to make it north and to freedom, eventually settling in the free black community of Hudson, Ohio, and educating herself to become a teacher.
€18.84
56 Reward Points
In stock online
Extended Range: Delivery in 2-3 working days
Free Delivery on this item

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

In the tradition of Copper Sun and Chains , this is the stirring tale of a girl's journey from Africa to freedom and from youth to womanhood, as recounted in this dazzling debut novel. Ayanna Bahati lives in a small African village when she is brutally kidnapped, along with her brother, and forced onto a slave ship to America. As Ayanna, renamed Anna, rises from the cotton fields to the master's house, she finds the familial love she's been yearning for in elderly Mary and Mary's son Daniel--but she is also faced with more threats to her survival. Risking everything to escape the plantation, Anna manages to make it north and to freedom, eventually settling in the free black community of Hudson, Ohio, and educating herself to become a teacher.
Quantity:
In stock online
Extended Range: Delivery in 2-3 working days
Free Delivery on this item
56 Reward Points

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

€18.84
In stock online
Extended Range: Delivery in 2-3 working days
Free Delivery on this item
Quantity:
56 Reward Points

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

Product Description

Product Details