Rick Riordan Books

Rick Riordan writes fast-paced, gripping adventure fiction for young readers aged 9 and up. Discover his latest book series, the Greek myth-inspired world of Percy Jackson.

About Rick Riordan

About Rick Riordan

Former teacher Rick Riordan was already an award-winning author of mysteries for adults when inspiration for The Percy Jackson Series hit. His son Haley had just been diagnosed with ADHD and dyslexia, and the mythology of ancient Greece was one of the few subjects that held his attention. When Haley requested bedtime stories of the Greek myths, Rick was glad to comply. When he ran out of existing stories to tell he invented new ones - and the character of Percy Jackson was born. Just like Haley, Percy has ADHD and dyslexia. As Rick himself says: “It’s not a bad thing to be different. Sometimes, it’s the mark of being very, very talented. That’s what Percy discovers about himself in The Lightning Thief.”

Other series have followed, including The Heroes of Olympus and The Trials of Apollo, both set in the Percy Jackson universe. All are ideal for young readers aged 9 or 10+.

Percy Jackson Book Series

NEW: Percy Jackson and the Chalice of the Gods

NEW: Percy Jackson and the Chalice of the Gods

The original hero. A brand-new adventure. Percy Jackson has saved the world multiple times - battling monsters, Titans, even giants - but these days the modern-day son of Poseidon is hoping for a regular final year at school. Too bad the Greek gods have other plans, and three new quests for Percy to complete.

Shop Now

The Heroes of Olympus Book Series

The Trials of Apollo Book Series

More Books by Rick Riordan