Free Delivery on orders over €10

The ruin

by Dervla McTiernan | 06 September 2018
Category: Crime Fiction
'As moving as it is fast-paced' VAL McDERMID Shortlisted for the Irish Independent Crime Fiction Book of the Year Shortlisted for the RTE Listeners' Choice Award Shortlisted for the Guardian Not the Booker Prize 2018 'Spectacularly good' MARIAN KEYES 'A compelling story with beautifully drawn characters' LAURA MARSHALL ***** February 1993 On his first week on the job, Garda Cormac Reilly responds to a call at a decrepit country house to find two silent, neglected children waiting for him - fifteen-year-old Maude and five-year-old Jack. Their mother lies dead upstairs. March 2013 Twenty years later, Cormac has left his high-flying career as a detective in Dublin and returned to Galway. As he struggles to navigate the politics of a new police station, Maude and Jack return to haunt him. What ties a recent suicide to the woman's death so long ago? And who among his new colleagues can Cormac really trust? Dervla McTiernan's powerful debut The Ruin draws us into the dark heart of Ireland and asks who will protect you when the authorities can't - or won't. Perfect for fans of Val McDermid, Tana French and Susie Steiner. ***** Praise for THE RUIN: 'Brilliantly crafted . . . incredibly real-feeling characters. An absolute treat!' SUNDAY MIRROR 'An exciting new voice in Irish noir' SUNDAY TIMES 'Corruption, clandestine cover-ups and criminal conspiracy ... as moving as it is fast-paced' VAL McDERMID 'Loved THE RUIN by Dervla McTiernan. A compelling story with beautifully drawn characters I really cared about' LAURA MARSHALL, 'Absolutely brilliant. Wonderful characters, authentic setting, and a sublime, twisty plot' IRISH EXAMINER 'Heartbreaking and heart-stopping' CAZ FREAR 'THE RUIN is as convincing as it is multi-layered, as compelling as it is complex . . . Dervla is a future star of the genre' CHRIS BROOKMYRE 'Fans of Tana French will love McTiernan's expertly plotted, complex web of secrets that refuse to stay hidden' KAREN DIONNE There are not many books that will keep me reading from start to finish but Dervla McTiernan's THE RUIN did just that . . . An excellent story, very well written . . . this one was a winner for me! ALEX GRAY 'Loved every page . . . Cormac Reilly is a brilliant new character, so real you can hear his footsteps on the stairs. Utterly gripping, brilliantly executed story' SAM BLAKE 'Intelligent, compassionate and believable' SINEAD CROWLEY
€12.60
37 Reward Points
In stock online
Delivery in 5 - 7 working days
Eligible for free delivery

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

'As moving as it is fast-paced' VAL McDERMID Shortlisted for the Irish Independent Crime Fiction Book of the Year Shortlisted for the RTE Listeners' Choice Award Shortlisted for the Guardian Not the Booker Prize 2018 'Spectacularly good' MARIAN KEYES 'A compelling story with beautifully drawn characters' LAURA MARSHALL ***** February 1993 On his first week on the job, Garda Cormac Reilly responds to a call at a decrepit country house to find two silent, neglected children waiting for him - fifteen-year-old Maude and five-year-old Jack. Their mother lies dead upstairs. March 2013 Twenty years later, Cormac has left his high-flying career as a detective in Dublin and returned to Galway. As he struggles to navigate the politics of a new police station, Maude and Jack return to haunt him. What ties a recent suicide to the woman's death so long ago? And who among his new colleagues can Cormac really trust? Dervla McTiernan's powerful debut The Ruin draws us into the dark heart of Ireland and asks who will protect you when the authorities can't - or won't. Perfect for fans of Val McDermid, Tana French and Susie Steiner. ***** Praise for THE RUIN: 'Brilliantly crafted . . . incredibly real-feeling characters. An absolute treat!' SUNDAY MIRROR 'An exciting new voice in Irish noir' SUNDAY TIMES 'Corruption, clandestine cover-ups and criminal conspiracy ... as moving as it is fast-paced' VAL McDERMID 'Loved THE RUIN by Dervla McTiernan. A compelling story with beautifully drawn characters I really cared about' LAURA MARSHALL, 'Absolutely brilliant. Wonderful characters, authentic setting, and a sublime, twisty plot' IRISH EXAMINER 'Heartbreaking and heart-stopping' CAZ FREAR 'THE RUIN is as convincing as it is multi-layered, as compelling as it is complex . . . Dervla is a future star of the genre' CHRIS BROOKMYRE 'Fans of Tana French will love McTiernan's expertly plotted, complex web of secrets that refuse to stay hidden' KAREN DIONNE There are not many books that will keep me reading from start to finish but Dervla McTiernan's THE RUIN did just that . . . An excellent story, very well written . . . this one was a winner for me! ALEX GRAY 'Loved every page . . . Cormac Reilly is a brilliant new character, so real you can hear his footsteps on the stairs. Utterly gripping, brilliantly executed story' SAM BLAKE 'Intelligent, compassionate and believable' SINEAD CROWLEY
Quantity:
In stock online
Delivery in 5 - 7 working days
Eligible for free delivery
37 Reward Points

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

€12.60
In stock online
Delivery in 5 - 7 working days
Eligible for free delivery
Quantity:
37 Reward Points

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

Product Description

'As moving as it is fast-paced' VAL McDERMID Shortlisted for the Irish Independent Crime Fiction Book of the Year Shortlisted for the RTE Listeners' Choice Award Shortlisted for the Guardian Not the Booker Prize 2018 'Spectacularly good' MARIAN KEYES 'A compelling story with beautifully drawn characters' LAURA MARSHALL ***** February 1993 On his first week on the job, Garda Cormac Reilly responds to a call at a decrepit country house to find two silent, neglected children waiting for him - fifteen-year-old Maude and five-year-old Jack. Their mother lies dead upstairs. March 2013 Twenty years later, Cormac has left his high-flying career as a detective in Dublin and returned to Galway. As he struggles to navigate the politics of a new police station, Maude and Jack return to haunt him. What ties a recent suicide to the woman's death so long ago? And who among his new colleagues can Cormac really trust? Dervla McTiernan's powerful debut The Ruin draws us into the dark heart of Ireland and asks who will protect you when the authorities can't - or won't. Perfect for fans of Val McDermid, Tana French and Susie Steiner. ***** Praise for THE RUIN: 'Brilliantly crafted . . . incredibly real-feeling characters. An absolute treat!' SUNDAY MIRROR 'An exciting new voice in Irish noir' SUNDAY TIMES 'Corruption, clandestine cover-ups and criminal conspiracy ... as moving as it is fast-paced' VAL McDERMID 'Loved THE RUIN by Dervla McTiernan. A compelling story with beautifully drawn characters I really cared about' LAURA MARSHALL, 'Absolutely brilliant. Wonderful characters, authentic setting, and a sublime, twisty plot' IRISH EXAMINER 'Heartbreaking and heart-stopping' CAZ FREAR 'THE RUIN is as convincing as it is multi-layered, as compelling as it is complex . . . Dervla is a future star of the genre' CHRIS BROOKMYRE 'Fans of Tana French will love McTiernan's expertly plotted, complex web of secrets that refuse to stay hidden' KAREN DIONNE There are not many books that will keep me reading from start to finish but Dervla McTiernan's THE RUIN did just that . . . An excellent story, very well written . . . this one was a winner for me! ALEX GRAY 'Loved every page . . . Cormac Reilly is a brilliant new character, so real you can hear his footsteps on the stairs. Utterly gripping, brilliantly executed story' SAM BLAKE 'Intelligent, compassionate and believable' SINEAD CROWLEY

Product Details

The ruin

ISBN9780751569315

Format

PublisherSPHERE (06 September. 2018)

No. of Pages380

Weight274

Language English (United States)

Dimensions 201 x 127 x 25