The stepmother

by Ros Carne | 08 April 2021
PAPERBACK
One guilty secret will tear her life apart... After a series of heart-breaking miscarriages, Kate's marriage is hanging by a thread. When her husband Michael tells her he has shocking news, at first, she thinks the worst - he's been having an affair. It would explain why he's been so distant. Instead, he reveals that the daughter he abandoned twenty years ago is coming to stay. Kate is blindsided by the sudden arrival of Imogen mere hours later. Her new stepdaughter is beautiful but troubled and seems wary of her own father. All the same, Kate is pleased to find herself connecting with Imogen, until one day, Imogen reveals a disturbing secret to her stepmother, making her swear never to tell a soul. With Kate already keeping secrets of her own, she worries her marriage will crumble under the weight of another. But perhaps it's not Imogen's intrusion Kate should be worried about. Perhaps it's Michael's past she should have been looking at all along... A completely addictive domestic suspense novel that will keep you guessing into the early hours of the morning. Perfect for fans of The Stepdaughter , Amanda Robson and Adele Parks. What readers are saying about The Stepmother : 'This elegantly written suspense novel quickly drew me in and transported me into the lives of Kate and Michael and their dysfunctional marriage... Compels the reader to keep turning the pages... A very satisfying and well-written novel.' M. M. DeLuca 'Loved this one! So easy to read and lots of twists and turns along the way. Definitely a quick read and one I recommend.' NetGalley Reviewer 'I really enjoyed this book, I was hooked from the first chapter and couldn't put it down, loads of twists & turns to keep one guessing' NetGalley Reviewer 'A marriage in tatters and a shocking surprise. This thriller is just that, thrilling until the end. Definitely not for the faint-hearted.' NetGalley Reviewer 'I really enjoyed this story... It was well written and truly heartfelt... A great read that I would recommend.' NetGalley Reviewer 'An original domestic thriller telling the story of a stepmother caught between the rock and a hard place... Highly recommended!' NetGalley Reviewer 'I really enjoyed this book... A unique perspective on the step-parent spectrum. Carne really makes you think and question the secrets of her characters. The Stepmother is a great read.' NetGalley Reviewer 'This is a story of a marriage failing, death and life's drama. Well written and gripping. This is my first book by Ros Carne and look forward to her next book.' NetGalley Reviewer 'I really enjoyed it. There were enjoyable twists to keep me guessing and I'd definitely read more by this author in the future.' NetGalley Reviewer
€12.59
37 Reward Points
In stock online
Delivery in 2-3 working days
Eligible for free delivery

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

One guilty secret will tear her life apart... After a series of heart-breaking miscarriages, Kate's marriage is hanging by a thread. When her husband Michael tells her he has shocking news, at first, she thinks the worst - he's been having an affair. It would explain why he's been so distant. Instead, he reveals that the daughter he abandoned twenty years ago is coming to stay. Kate is blindsided by the sudden arrival of Imogen mere hours later. Her new stepdaughter is beautiful but troubled and seems wary of her own father. All the same, Kate is pleased to find herself connecting with Imogen, until one day, Imogen reveals a disturbing secret to her stepmother, making her swear never to tell a soul. With Kate already keeping secrets of her own, she worries her marriage will crumble under the weight of another. But perhaps it's not Imogen's intrusion Kate should be worried about. Perhaps it's Michael's past she should have been looking at all along... A completely addictive domestic suspense novel that will keep you guessing into the early hours of the morning. Perfect for fans of The Stepdaughter , Amanda Robson and Adele Parks. What readers are saying about The Stepmother : 'This elegantly written suspense novel quickly drew me in and transported me into the lives of Kate and Michael and their dysfunctional marriage... Compels the reader to keep turning the pages... A very satisfying and well-written novel.' M. M. DeLuca 'Loved this one! So easy to read and lots of twists and turns along the way. Definitely a quick read and one I recommend.' NetGalley Reviewer 'I really enjoyed this book, I was hooked from the first chapter and couldn't put it down, loads of twists & turns to keep one guessing' NetGalley Reviewer 'A marriage in tatters and a shocking surprise. This thriller is just that, thrilling until the end. Definitely not for the faint-hearted.' NetGalley Reviewer 'I really enjoyed this story... It was well written and truly heartfelt... A great read that I would recommend.' NetGalley Reviewer 'An original domestic thriller telling the story of a stepmother caught between the rock and a hard place... Highly recommended!' NetGalley Reviewer 'I really enjoyed this book... A unique perspective on the step-parent spectrum. Carne really makes you think and question the secrets of her characters. The Stepmother is a great read.' NetGalley Reviewer 'This is a story of a marriage failing, death and life's drama. Well written and gripping. This is my first book by Ros Carne and look forward to her next book.' NetGalley Reviewer 'I really enjoyed it. There were enjoyable twists to keep me guessing and I'd definitely read more by this author in the future.' NetGalley Reviewer
Quantity:
In stock online
Delivery in 2-3 working days
Eligible for free delivery
37 Reward Points

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

€12.59
In stock online
Delivery in 2-3 working days
Eligible for free delivery
Quantity:
37 Reward Points

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

Product Description

Product Details