Tombland

by C. J. Sansom | 09 May 2024
Paperback
'C. J. Sansom's books are arguably the best Tudor novels going' - The Sunday Times Tombland is the seventh epic novel in C. J. Sansom's number one bestselling Shardlake series, perfect for fans of Hilary Mantel and Philippa Gregory. England, 1549. Two years after the death of Henry VIII, England is sliding into chaos. The economy is in collapse, inflation rages and rebellion is stirring among the peasantry . . . Since the old king's death, Matthew Shardlake has been working as a lawyer in the service of Henry's daughter, the Lady Elizabeth. The gruesome murder of Edith Boleyn - a distant relative in Norfolk - sends Shardlake and his assistant Nicholas Overton to the summer Assizes at Norwich. And then East Anglia explodes, as peasant rebellion breaks out across the country. The yeoman Robert Kett leads a force of thousands in overthrowing the landlords and taking over Norwich, England's second largest city. Now Shardlake must decide where his ultimate loyalties lie, as government forces in London prepare to march north and destroy the rebels. Meanwhile he discovers that the murder of Edith Boleyn may have connections reaching into both the heart of the Norfolk gentry and the rebel camp itself . . . This is the seventh novel in C. J. Sansom's thrilling historical series that started with Dissolution . Includes an Historical Essay from the author on Reimagining Kett's Rebellion.
€18.85
56 Reward Points
In stock online
Delivery in 1-2 working days
Free Delivery on this item

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

'C. J. Sansom's books are arguably the best Tudor novels going' - The Sunday Times Tombland is the seventh epic novel in C. J. Sansom's number one bestselling Shardlake series, perfect for fans of Hilary Mantel and Philippa Gregory. England, 1549. Two years after the death of Henry VIII, England is sliding into chaos. The economy is in collapse, inflation rages and rebellion is stirring among the peasantry . . . Since the old king's death, Matthew Shardlake has been working as a lawyer in the service of Henry's daughter, the Lady Elizabeth. The gruesome murder of Edith Boleyn - a distant relative in Norfolk - sends Shardlake and his assistant Nicholas Overton to the summer Assizes at Norwich. And then East Anglia explodes, as peasant rebellion breaks out across the country. The yeoman Robert Kett leads a force of thousands in overthrowing the landlords and taking over Norwich, England's second largest city. Now Shardlake must decide where his ultimate loyalties lie, as government forces in London prepare to march north and destroy the rebels. Meanwhile he discovers that the murder of Edith Boleyn may have connections reaching into both the heart of the Norfolk gentry and the rebel camp itself . . . This is the seventh novel in C. J. Sansom's thrilling historical series that started with Dissolution . Includes an Historical Essay from the author on Reimagining Kett's Rebellion.
Quantity:
In stock online
Delivery in 1-2 working days
Free Delivery on this item
56 Reward Points

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

€18.85
In stock online
Delivery in 1-2 working days
Free Delivery on this item
Quantity:
56 Reward Points

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

Product Description

Product Details