Bridges to burn

by Marion Todd | 07 March 2024
PAPERBACK
How can DI Clare Mackay uncover the facts if nothing is what it seems? DI Clare Mackay is called to Albany High, where the body of a girl has been found. A suspected suicide - yet Sophie Bakewell was by all accounts a cheerful, talented student. Could she really have been hiding a darker side? It's not the only disturbing case to land on Clare's desk. Across town, an elderly man is in danger. Yet before the police can determine the facts, everything changes and they are presented with two suspicious deaths to investigate. As Clare and her team face the possibility that anything they believe to be true about the deaths is wrong, they might find that a killer can lurk behind the most innocent of faces. An unputdownable crime thriller from the queen of Tartan Noir, perfect for fans of Ann Cleeves, Lin Anderson and JD Kirk. Praise for Bridges to Burn 'Engrossing and immersive... had me hooked from the first page and I devoured it in one sitting' Angela Marsons, author of the Detective Kim Stone series 'Bridges to Burn is a treat for anyone who loves gripping, well plotted police procedurals with compelling character arcs... full of twists' Rachel McLean, author of the Dorset Crime series 'Intriguingly plotted with a plethora of teasingly plausible suspects' Tim Sullivan, author of the DS Cross Thrillers 'I absolutely loved Bridges to Burn... had me hooked from beginning to end' Rachel Lynch, author of the DI Kelly Porter series 'Such a gripping police procedural and a superb cast of characters. I feel like Clare's team are old friends, and I can't wait to read more from the Mackay series' J.M. Hewitt, author of The Crew 'Marion Todd just gets better and better. This latest installment keeps the reader turning the pages to a breathless finale' Sheila Bugler, author of Black Valley Farm 'Pacy, thrilling and full of twists and turns... A genuinely brilliant whodunnit that oozes all the dread, mystery and excitement that we've come to expect from this series' Jonathan Whitelaw, author of The Bingo Hall Detectives 'Sparkling prose and a nail-biting plot' Sarah Ward, author of The Birthday Girl 'Good storyline and engaging. hard to put down' ????? Reader review 'This is the first book I have read by this author, and it certainly will not be the last. The story was well-crafted, gripping and quite brilliant. A brilliant police procedural' ????? Reader review 'There are plenty of twists and red herrings to keep us on our toes. I love Marion's style of writing. The storyline is gripping. I think this is the best book in the series, so far' ????? Reader review 'Love the Claire Mackay novels. Great writing and premise. Amazing characters. Page-turner. Plenty of suspense to keep me guessing' ????? Reader review
€14.49
43 Reward Points
In stock online
Extended Range: Delivery in 2-3 working days
Free Delivery on this item

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

How can DI Clare Mackay uncover the facts if nothing is what it seems? DI Clare Mackay is called to Albany High, where the body of a girl has been found. A suspected suicide - yet Sophie Bakewell was by all accounts a cheerful, talented student. Could she really have been hiding a darker side? It's not the only disturbing case to land on Clare's desk. Across town, an elderly man is in danger. Yet before the police can determine the facts, everything changes and they are presented with two suspicious deaths to investigate. As Clare and her team face the possibility that anything they believe to be true about the deaths is wrong, they might find that a killer can lurk behind the most innocent of faces. An unputdownable crime thriller from the queen of Tartan Noir, perfect for fans of Ann Cleeves, Lin Anderson and JD Kirk. Praise for Bridges to Burn 'Engrossing and immersive... had me hooked from the first page and I devoured it in one sitting' Angela Marsons, author of the Detective Kim Stone series 'Bridges to Burn is a treat for anyone who loves gripping, well plotted police procedurals with compelling character arcs... full of twists' Rachel McLean, author of the Dorset Crime series 'Intriguingly plotted with a plethora of teasingly plausible suspects' Tim Sullivan, author of the DS Cross Thrillers 'I absolutely loved Bridges to Burn... had me hooked from beginning to end' Rachel Lynch, author of the DI Kelly Porter series 'Such a gripping police procedural and a superb cast of characters. I feel like Clare's team are old friends, and I can't wait to read more from the Mackay series' J.M. Hewitt, author of The Crew 'Marion Todd just gets better and better. This latest installment keeps the reader turning the pages to a breathless finale' Sheila Bugler, author of Black Valley Farm 'Pacy, thrilling and full of twists and turns... A genuinely brilliant whodunnit that oozes all the dread, mystery and excitement that we've come to expect from this series' Jonathan Whitelaw, author of The Bingo Hall Detectives 'Sparkling prose and a nail-biting plot' Sarah Ward, author of The Birthday Girl 'Good storyline and engaging. hard to put down' ????? Reader review 'This is the first book I have read by this author, and it certainly will not be the last. The story was well-crafted, gripping and quite brilliant. A brilliant police procedural' ????? Reader review 'There are plenty of twists and red herrings to keep us on our toes. I love Marion's style of writing. The storyline is gripping. I think this is the best book in the series, so far' ????? Reader review 'Love the Claire Mackay novels. Great writing and premise. Amazing characters. Page-turner. Plenty of suspense to keep me guessing' ????? Reader review
Quantity:
In stock online
Extended Range: Delivery in 2-3 working days
Free Delivery on this item
43 Reward Points

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

€14.49
In stock online
Extended Range: Delivery in 2-3 working days
Free Delivery on this item
Quantity:
43 Reward Points

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

Product Description

Product Details