FREE DELIVERY ON ORDERS OVER €10 | FREE CLICK & COLLECT NOW AVAILABLE

The orphans of Halfpenny Street

by Cathy Sharp | 10 September 2015
Category: Romance
Synopsis
Call the Midwife meets Dr Barnardo's in this gritty drama that will appeal to fans of Nadine Dorries and Kitty Neale. When there is nowhere else to turn, St Saviour's will give them hope. It's 1947 and London's East End is still a bombed-out landscape. Sister Beatrice, who runs the St Saviour's Children's Home, knows that life is still a precarious existence for many children and it seems that there is no end to the constant stream of waifs and strays who appear at their door looking for a safe haven. One such arrival is Mary Ellen whose mother is gravely ill. The one silver lining is her best friend, the tearaway Billy Baggins, also a resident of the home, but Billy seems intent on falling foul of Sister Beatrice's strict regime. New arrival on the staff, Angela, admires Sister Beatrice, but can see that the children need love and kindness as well as a strong hand. When an unwelcome face from Billy's past arrives on the scene, things are brought to a head. Can the two women work together to keep Billy on the straight and narrow - or is it too late?
€9.79
29 Reward Points
In stock online
Delivery 2-7 working days.
Synopsis
Call the Midwife meets Dr Barnardo's in this gritty drama that will appeal to fans of Nadine Dorries and Kitty Neale. When there is nowhere else to turn, St Saviour's will give them hope. It's 1947 and London's East End is still a bombed-out landscape. Sister Beatrice, who runs the St Saviour's Children's Home, knows that life is still a precarious existence for many children and it seems that there is no end to the constant stream of waifs and strays who appear at their door looking for a safe haven. One such arrival is Mary Ellen whose mother is gravely ill. The one silver lining is her best friend, the tearaway Billy Baggins, also a resident of the home, but Billy seems intent on falling foul of Sister Beatrice's strict regime. New arrival on the staff, Angela, admires Sister Beatrice, but can see that the children need love and kindness as well as a strong hand. When an unwelcome face from Billy's past arrives on the scene, things are brought to a head. Can the two women work together to keep Billy on the straight and narrow - or is it too late?
Quantity
Quantity
€9.79
29 Reward Points
In stock online
Delivery 2-7 working days.
Quantity
Quantity

Product Details

ISBN - 9780008118440
Format -
Publisher -
Published - 10/09/2015
Categories - All, Books, Fiction, Mills and Boon, Romance
No. of Pages - 512
Weight - 360
Edition - Paperback original
Series - - Not Available
Page Size - 20
Language - en-US
Readership Age - Not Available
Table of Contents - Not Available

Delivery And Returns

Please Note: Items in our extended range may take longer to deliver. For this reason, we cannot guarantee delivery of this item before Christmas.

Place an order for over €10 to receive free delivery to anywhere in Ireland and the UK! See our Delivery Charges section below for a full breakdown of shipping costs for all destinations.

 

Delivery Charges

  Ireland & UK* Europe & USA Australia & Canada Rest of World
Under €10 €3.80 €10 €15 €25
Over €10
Free €10 €15 €25

*Free delivery on all orders over €10 - only applies to order total.

All orders will be delivered by An Post.