Free Delivery on Orders Over €10 | EASON COVID-19 UPDATE | See our Click & Collect range here

People like us

by Louise Fein | 06 August 2020
'People Like Us is also a reminder that - even in the darkest times - the extraordinary power of love can light the way' Fiona Valpy. 'A powerful, unforgettable love story' Gill Paul. 'A heartbreaking, beautiful story' Jenny Ashcroft. 'This is historical fiction at its absolute best' Liz Trenow. 'I nearly drowned and Walter rescued me. That changes everything.' Leipzig, 1930s Germany. Hetty Heinrich is a perfect German child. Her father is an SS officer, her brother in the Luftwaffe, herself a member of the BDM. She believes resolutely in her country, and the man who runs it. Until Walter changes everything. Blond-haired, blue-eyed, perfect in every way Walter. The boy who saved her life. A Jew. Anti-semitism is growing by the day, and neighbours, friends and family members are turning on one another. As Hetty falls deeper in love with a man who is against all she has been taught, she begins to fight against her country, her family and herself. Hetty will have to risk everything to save Walter, even if it means sacrificing herself... Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Book Thief . Why people love People Like Us : 'An outstanding and heart-breaking story of Nazism seen from the 'other side': blind indoctrination is transformed into true heroism by the power of love' Sharon Maas, author of The Violin Maker's Daughter . 'People Like Us is part romance, part character study, part call to arms' Lizzie Page. 'People Like Us is an incredibly moving, utterly captivating, beautiful story of love, courage, and the strength of the human spirit. It was both heartbreaking and hopeful at once. The ending had me in tears' Rhiannon Navin. 'A heartbreaking and thought-provoking story about forbidden love during Nazi Germany. Had me gripped to the very end' Luke Allnutt, author of We Own the Sky . 'Beautiful and absorbing - a vital story of kindness, and a reminder that humanity can flourish in the darkest of times' Caroline Hulse, author of The Adults .
€12.99
38 Reward Points
In stock online
Delivery in 4 - 7 working
Eligible for free delivery

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

'People Like Us is also a reminder that - even in the darkest times - the extraordinary power of love can light the way' Fiona Valpy. 'A powerful, unforgettable love story' Gill Paul. 'A heartbreaking, beautiful story' Jenny Ashcroft. 'This is historical fiction at its absolute best' Liz Trenow. 'I nearly drowned and Walter rescued me. That changes everything.' Leipzig, 1930s Germany. Hetty Heinrich is a perfect German child. Her father is an SS officer, her brother in the Luftwaffe, herself a member of the BDM. She believes resolutely in her country, and the man who runs it. Until Walter changes everything. Blond-haired, blue-eyed, perfect in every way Walter. The boy who saved her life. A Jew. Anti-semitism is growing by the day, and neighbours, friends and family members are turning on one another. As Hetty falls deeper in love with a man who is against all she has been taught, she begins to fight against her country, her family and herself. Hetty will have to risk everything to save Walter, even if it means sacrificing herself... Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Book Thief . Why people love People Like Us : 'An outstanding and heart-breaking story of Nazism seen from the 'other side': blind indoctrination is transformed into true heroism by the power of love' Sharon Maas, author of The Violin Maker's Daughter . 'People Like Us is part romance, part character study, part call to arms' Lizzie Page. 'People Like Us is an incredibly moving, utterly captivating, beautiful story of love, courage, and the strength of the human spirit. It was both heartbreaking and hopeful at once. The ending had me in tears' Rhiannon Navin. 'A heartbreaking and thought-provoking story about forbidden love during Nazi Germany. Had me gripped to the very end' Luke Allnutt, author of We Own the Sky . 'Beautiful and absorbing - a vital story of kindness, and a reminder that humanity can flourish in the darkest of times' Caroline Hulse, author of The Adults .
Quantity:
In stock online
Delivery in 4 - 7 working
Eligible for free delivery
38 Reward Points

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

€12.99
In stock online
Delivery in 4 - 7 working
Eligible for free delivery
Quantity:
38 Reward Points

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

Product Description

'People Like Us is also a reminder that - even in the darkest times - the extraordinary power of love can light the way' Fiona Valpy. 'A powerful, unforgettable love story' Gill Paul. 'A heartbreaking, beautiful story' Jenny Ashcroft. 'This is historical fiction at its absolute best' Liz Trenow. 'I nearly drowned and Walter rescued me. That changes everything.' Leipzig, 1930s Germany. Hetty Heinrich is a perfect German child. Her father is an SS officer, her brother in the Luftwaffe, herself a member of the BDM. She believes resolutely in her country, and the man who runs it. Until Walter changes everything. Blond-haired, blue-eyed, perfect in every way Walter. The boy who saved her life. A Jew. Anti-semitism is growing by the day, and neighbours, friends and family members are turning on one another. As Hetty falls deeper in love with a man who is against all she has been taught, she begins to fight against her country, her family and herself. Hetty will have to risk everything to save Walter, even if it means sacrificing herself... Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Book Thief . Why people love People Like Us : 'An outstanding and heart-breaking story of Nazism seen from the 'other side': blind indoctrination is transformed into true heroism by the power of love' Sharon Maas, author of The Violin Maker's Daughter . 'People Like Us is part romance, part character study, part call to arms' Lizzie Page. 'People Like Us is an incredibly moving, utterly captivating, beautiful story of love, courage, and the strength of the human spirit. It was both heartbreaking and hopeful at once. The ending had me in tears' Rhiannon Navin. 'A heartbreaking and thought-provoking story about forbidden love during Nazi Germany. Had me gripped to the very end' Luke Allnutt, author of We Own the Sky . 'Beautiful and absorbing - a vital story of kindness, and a reminder that humanity can flourish in the darkest of times' Caroline Hulse, author of The Adults .

Product Details

People like us

ISBN9781789545012

Format

PublisherHEAD OF ZEUS (06 August. 2020)

No. of Pages496

Weight759

Language English (United States)

Dimensions 228 x 145 x 40