Finding Junie Kim

by Ellen Oh | 07 July 2022
PAPERBACK
For fans of Inside Out and Back Again and Amina's Voice comes a breathtaking story of family, hope, and survival from Ellen Oh, cofounder of We Need Diverse Books. When Junie Kim is faced with middle school racism, she learns of her grandparents' extraordinary strength and finds her voice. Inspired by her mother's real-life experiences during the Korean War, Oh's characters are real and riveting. "Both unique and universal, timely and timeless." -Padma Venkatraman, Walter Award-winning author of The Bridge Home "A moving story that highlights how to find courage in the face of unspeakable hardship." -Hena Khan, award-winning author of Amina's Voice "Junie discovers where she comes from and gains the courage to make a difference in the future." -Wendy Wan-Long Shang, award-winning author of The Great Wall of Lucy Wu Junie Kim just wants to fit in. So she keeps her head down and tries not to draw attention to herself. But when racist graffiti appears at her middle school, Junie must decide between staying silent or speaking out. Then Junie's history teacher assigns a project and Junie decides to interview her grandparents, learning about their unbelievable experiences as kids during the Korean War. Junie comes to admire her grandma's fierce determination to overcome impossible odds, and her grandpa's unwavering compassion during wartime. And as racism becomes more pervasive at school, Junie taps into the strength of her ancestors and finds the courage to do what is right. Finding Junie Kim is a reminder that within all of us lies the power to overcome hardship and emerge triumphant. Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature Honor Book A Bank Street Best Children's Book of the Year Included in NPR's 2021 Books We Love List 2021 Nerdy Award Winner
€9.79
29 Reward Points
In stock online
Delivery in 2-3 working days

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

For fans of Inside Out and Back Again and Amina's Voice comes a breathtaking story of family, hope, and survival from Ellen Oh, cofounder of We Need Diverse Books. When Junie Kim is faced with middle school racism, she learns of her grandparents' extraordinary strength and finds her voice. Inspired by her mother's real-life experiences during the Korean War, Oh's characters are real and riveting. "Both unique and universal, timely and timeless." -Padma Venkatraman, Walter Award-winning author of The Bridge Home "A moving story that highlights how to find courage in the face of unspeakable hardship." -Hena Khan, award-winning author of Amina's Voice "Junie discovers where she comes from and gains the courage to make a difference in the future." -Wendy Wan-Long Shang, award-winning author of The Great Wall of Lucy Wu Junie Kim just wants to fit in. So she keeps her head down and tries not to draw attention to herself. But when racist graffiti appears at her middle school, Junie must decide between staying silent or speaking out. Then Junie's history teacher assigns a project and Junie decides to interview her grandparents, learning about their unbelievable experiences as kids during the Korean War. Junie comes to admire her grandma's fierce determination to overcome impossible odds, and her grandpa's unwavering compassion during wartime. And as racism becomes more pervasive at school, Junie taps into the strength of her ancestors and finds the courage to do what is right. Finding Junie Kim is a reminder that within all of us lies the power to overcome hardship and emerge triumphant. Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature Honor Book A Bank Street Best Children's Book of the Year Included in NPR's 2021 Books We Love List 2021 Nerdy Award Winner
Quantity:
In stock online
Delivery in 2-3 working days
29 Reward Points

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

€9.79
In stock online
Delivery in 2-3 working days
Quantity:
29 Reward Points

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

Product Description

Product Details