Broken places

by Tracy Clark | 15 August 2022
PAPERBACK
Cass Raines - a former cop turned private investigator. But has she got what it takes to catch a murderer.? When Cass Raines took a bullet in the line of duty, it wasn't injury that saw her quit the police but the cover up for an incompetent colleague that followed. Now, the Chicago PD has one less African-American woman on the force and Cass is the head of a one-woman private investigation agency. When her close friend Father Ray asks Cass to look into a recent spate of vandalism at his church, she readily agrees. But only hours later she's horrified to discover his murdered body in the church confessional, and another dead man nearby. The lead detective assigned to the case is all too ready to dismiss it as an interrupted burglary gone awry - just another statistic in a violent city. But Cass's instincts tell her otherwise, and badge or no badge, she intends to see justice done. The first in a series of compulsive crime novels featuring an unforgettable lead character. Perfect for fans of Ian K. Smith, Sue Grafton and the Cormoran Strike novels. Praise for Tracy Clark 'Clark writes with purpose, her sense of social justice never venturing into dogma but remaining fully rooted in Raines's actions and personality. She saves, but is no savior, because she operates in a world where survival is the benchmark, and pain remains in the aftermath.' The New York Times on Runner , part of the Cass Raines Mystery series Runner nominated for the Sue Grafton Memorial Award from the Mystery Writers of America's Edgar Award 'This street-smart first mystery boasts great characterization and a terrific new protagonist. Get this writer on your radar now.' Booklist 'Unforgettable. . . . Distinctive, vividly written characters lift this promising debut. Readers will be eager for the sequel.' Publishers Weekly , STARRED REVIEW 'Clark's kickoff to an exciting new character-driven series explores the dynamics between a black investigator and a white world in a story ripped from the headlines.' Kirkus Reviews 'Clark's compelling, suspenseful, and action-packed debut introduces a dogged, tough African American woman investigator who is complex and courageous and surrounded by a family of fascinating misfits. Fans of Sue Grafton's Kinsey Millhone or Sara Paretsky's V.I Warshawski will welcome Cass Raines to their ranks.' Library Journal , STARRED REVIEW
€13.99
41 Reward Points
In stock online
Delivery in 2-3 working days
Eligible for free delivery

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

Cass Raines - a former cop turned private investigator. But has she got what it takes to catch a murderer.? When Cass Raines took a bullet in the line of duty, it wasn't injury that saw her quit the police but the cover up for an incompetent colleague that followed. Now, the Chicago PD has one less African-American woman on the force and Cass is the head of a one-woman private investigation agency. When her close friend Father Ray asks Cass to look into a recent spate of vandalism at his church, she readily agrees. But only hours later she's horrified to discover his murdered body in the church confessional, and another dead man nearby. The lead detective assigned to the case is all too ready to dismiss it as an interrupted burglary gone awry - just another statistic in a violent city. But Cass's instincts tell her otherwise, and badge or no badge, she intends to see justice done. The first in a series of compulsive crime novels featuring an unforgettable lead character. Perfect for fans of Ian K. Smith, Sue Grafton and the Cormoran Strike novels. Praise for Tracy Clark 'Clark writes with purpose, her sense of social justice never venturing into dogma but remaining fully rooted in Raines's actions and personality. She saves, but is no savior, because she operates in a world where survival is the benchmark, and pain remains in the aftermath.' The New York Times on Runner , part of the Cass Raines Mystery series Runner nominated for the Sue Grafton Memorial Award from the Mystery Writers of America's Edgar Award 'This street-smart first mystery boasts great characterization and a terrific new protagonist. Get this writer on your radar now.' Booklist 'Unforgettable. . . . Distinctive, vividly written characters lift this promising debut. Readers will be eager for the sequel.' Publishers Weekly , STARRED REVIEW 'Clark's kickoff to an exciting new character-driven series explores the dynamics between a black investigator and a white world in a story ripped from the headlines.' Kirkus Reviews 'Clark's compelling, suspenseful, and action-packed debut introduces a dogged, tough African American woman investigator who is complex and courageous and surrounded by a family of fascinating misfits. Fans of Sue Grafton's Kinsey Millhone or Sara Paretsky's V.I Warshawski will welcome Cass Raines to their ranks.' Library Journal , STARRED REVIEW
Quantity:
In stock online
Delivery in 2-3 working days
Eligible for free delivery
41 Reward Points

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

€13.99
In stock online
Delivery in 2-3 working days
Eligible for free delivery
Quantity:
41 Reward Points

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

Product Description

Product Details