Free Delivery on orders over €10 | See our open stores here: Store Locator

Your house will pay

by Steph Cha | 16 January 2020
Two families. One desperate to remember, the other to forget. Will the truth burn them both? 'Masterful.' Ruth Ware 'A smart, sensitive page-turner.' Daily Mail Grace Park and Shawn Mathews share a city, but seemingly little else. Coming from different generations and very different communities, their paths wouldn't normally cross at all. As Grace battles confusion over her elder sister's estrangement from their Korean-immigrant parents, Shawn tries to help his cousin Ray readjust to life on the outside after years spent in prison. But something in their past links these two families. As the city around them threatens to spark into violence, echoing events from their past, the lives of Grace and Shawn are set to collide in ways which will change them all forever. Beautifully written, and marked by its aching humanity as much as its growing sense of dread, Your House Will Pay is a powerful and moving family story, perfect for readers of Celeste Ng's Little Fires Everywhere and Paul Beatty's The Sellout . What readers are saying: 'Simultaneously thrilling and thoughtful... a terrific, fast-moving story of two characters trying to live with the truth.' 'A must-read.' 'This novel is wonderful... it will stick with you.' 'Sensitive and astute, it's a book we need right now, and it's a book that lingers, offering plenty to think about.' 'A smart, powerful, fully-engaged book that never once blinks or backs down or takes an easy out, and then nails one of the best endings I've ever read.'
€18.20
54 Reward Points
In stock online
Delivery in 5 - 7 working days
Eligible for free delivery

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

Two families. One desperate to remember, the other to forget. Will the truth burn them both? 'Masterful.' Ruth Ware 'A smart, sensitive page-turner.' Daily Mail Grace Park and Shawn Mathews share a city, but seemingly little else. Coming from different generations and very different communities, their paths wouldn't normally cross at all. As Grace battles confusion over her elder sister's estrangement from their Korean-immigrant parents, Shawn tries to help his cousin Ray readjust to life on the outside after years spent in prison. But something in their past links these two families. As the city around them threatens to spark into violence, echoing events from their past, the lives of Grace and Shawn are set to collide in ways which will change them all forever. Beautifully written, and marked by its aching humanity as much as its growing sense of dread, Your House Will Pay is a powerful and moving family story, perfect for readers of Celeste Ng's Little Fires Everywhere and Paul Beatty's The Sellout . What readers are saying: 'Simultaneously thrilling and thoughtful... a terrific, fast-moving story of two characters trying to live with the truth.' 'A must-read.' 'This novel is wonderful... it will stick with you.' 'Sensitive and astute, it's a book we need right now, and it's a book that lingers, offering plenty to think about.' 'A smart, powerful, fully-engaged book that never once blinks or backs down or takes an easy out, and then nails one of the best endings I've ever read.'
Quantity:
In stock online
Delivery in 5 - 7 working days
Eligible for free delivery
54 Reward Points

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

€18.20
In stock online
Delivery in 5 - 7 working days
Eligible for free delivery
Quantity:
54 Reward Points

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

Product Description

Two families. One desperate to remember, the other to forget. Will the truth burn them both? 'Masterful.' Ruth Ware 'A smart, sensitive page-turner.' Daily Mail Grace Park and Shawn Mathews share a city, but seemingly little else. Coming from different generations and very different communities, their paths wouldn't normally cross at all. As Grace battles confusion over her elder sister's estrangement from their Korean-immigrant parents, Shawn tries to help his cousin Ray readjust to life on the outside after years spent in prison. But something in their past links these two families. As the city around them threatens to spark into violence, echoing events from their past, the lives of Grace and Shawn are set to collide in ways which will change them all forever. Beautifully written, and marked by its aching humanity as much as its growing sense of dread, Your House Will Pay is a powerful and moving family story, perfect for readers of Celeste Ng's Little Fires Everywhere and Paul Beatty's The Sellout . What readers are saying: 'Simultaneously thrilling and thoughtful... a terrific, fast-moving story of two characters trying to live with the truth.' 'A must-read.' 'This novel is wonderful... it will stick with you.' 'Sensitive and astute, it's a book we need right now, and it's a book that lingers, offering plenty to think about.' 'A smart, powerful, fully-engaged book that never once blinks or backs down or takes an easy out, and then nails one of the best endings I've ever read.'

Product Details

Your house will pay

ISBN9780571348213

Format

PublisherFABER & FABER (16 January. 2020)

No. of Pages320

Weight331

Language English (United States)

Dimensions 216 x 135 x 22