Free Delivery on orders over €10 | for 10% off our School Books Range: Click Here

The palace of lost dreams

by Charlotte Betts | 31 May 2018
Category: Historical Fiction
A sumptuously evocative story set in 18th century India from bestselling author Charlotte Betts, perfect for readers of Dinah Jefferies, Lucinda Riley and Jenny Ashcroft. 'Romantic, engaging and hugely satisfying' Katie Fforde on The Apothecary's Daughter India, 1798. Beatrice Sinclair, a grieving young widow facing financial destitution, has travelled from Hampshire to Hyderabad to visit her brother, an employee of the British East India Company. There, she is astonished to discover that he has married a beautiful Indian girl and lives with his wife's extended family in a dilapidated palace, the Jahanara Mahal - famed for the theft of a fabled diamond many years ago. As an outsider in an unfamiliar world, Bee faces many challenges - not least of all building a new and meaningful life after the heartbreak she has endured. Meanwhile the French and British forces become locked in a battle over India's riches, and matters are complicated further by the presence of the dashing Harry Wyndam: a maverick ex-soldier and suspected spy. With rebellion in the air, Bee must decide where her loyalties lie . . . Reader reviews for Charlotte Betts: 'You will never be disappointed with a Charlotte Betts book!' Amazon reviewer 'Well-written and thought-provoking' Goodreads reviewer 'A fantastic story loaded with history' Amazon reviewer
€19.59
58 Reward Points
In stock online
Delivery in 5 - 7 working days
Eligible for free delivery

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

A sumptuously evocative story set in 18th century India from bestselling author Charlotte Betts, perfect for readers of Dinah Jefferies, Lucinda Riley and Jenny Ashcroft. 'Romantic, engaging and hugely satisfying' Katie Fforde on The Apothecary's Daughter India, 1798. Beatrice Sinclair, a grieving young widow facing financial destitution, has travelled from Hampshire to Hyderabad to visit her brother, an employee of the British East India Company. There, she is astonished to discover that he has married a beautiful Indian girl and lives with his wife's extended family in a dilapidated palace, the Jahanara Mahal - famed for the theft of a fabled diamond many years ago. As an outsider in an unfamiliar world, Bee faces many challenges - not least of all building a new and meaningful life after the heartbreak she has endured. Meanwhile the French and British forces become locked in a battle over India's riches, and matters are complicated further by the presence of the dashing Harry Wyndam: a maverick ex-soldier and suspected spy. With rebellion in the air, Bee must decide where her loyalties lie . . . Reader reviews for Charlotte Betts: 'You will never be disappointed with a Charlotte Betts book!' Amazon reviewer 'Well-written and thought-provoking' Goodreads reviewer 'A fantastic story loaded with history' Amazon reviewer
Quantity:
In stock online
Delivery in 5 - 7 working days
Eligible for free delivery
58 Reward Points

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

€19.59
In stock online
Delivery in 5 - 7 working days
Eligible for free delivery
Quantity:
58 Reward Points

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

Product Description

A sumptuously evocative story set in 18th century India from bestselling author Charlotte Betts, perfect for readers of Dinah Jefferies, Lucinda Riley and Jenny Ashcroft. 'Romantic, engaging and hugely satisfying' Katie Fforde on The Apothecary's Daughter India, 1798. Beatrice Sinclair, a grieving young widow facing financial destitution, has travelled from Hampshire to Hyderabad to visit her brother, an employee of the British East India Company. There, she is astonished to discover that he has married a beautiful Indian girl and lives with his wife's extended family in a dilapidated palace, the Jahanara Mahal - famed for the theft of a fabled diamond many years ago. As an outsider in an unfamiliar world, Bee faces many challenges - not least of all building a new and meaningful life after the heartbreak she has endured. Meanwhile the French and British forces become locked in a battle over India's riches, and matters are complicated further by the presence of the dashing Harry Wyndam: a maverick ex-soldier and suspected spy. With rebellion in the air, Bee must decide where her loyalties lie . . . Reader reviews for Charlotte Betts: 'You will never be disappointed with a Charlotte Betts book!' Amazon reviewer 'Well-written and thought-provoking' Goodreads reviewer 'A fantastic story loaded with history' Amazon reviewer

Product Details

The palace of lost dreams

ISBN9780349414171

Format

PublisherPIATKUS (31 May. 2018)

No. of Pages400

Weight482

Language English (United States)

Dimensions 158 x 234 x 27