The assistant

by Kjell Ola Dahl | 20 May 2021
PAPERBACK
A seemingly straightforward investigation into marital infidelity leads a PI and his ex-con assistant on a murderous trail, in a sophisticated, riveting, cunningly plotted historical thriller set in interwar and prohibition-era Norway. 'An expertly crafted unravelling of mixed loyalties, love, lust, lies and trust, set against the background of a world increasingly on the edge of all-out war' John Harvey 'Dark, gritty and compulsive . feels like a classic of the genre' William Ryan 'A stylish standalone thriller . Dahl ratchets up the tension from the first pages and never lets go' Sunday Times ------------------------ Oslo, 1938. War is in the air and Europe is in turmoil. Hitler's Germany has occupied Austria and is threatening Czechoslovakia; there's a civil war in Spain and Mussolini reigns in Italy. When a woman turns up at the office of police-turned-private investigator Ludvig Paaske, he and his assistant - his one-time nemesis and former drug-smuggler Jack Rivers - begin a seemingly straightforward investigation into marital infidelity. But all is not what it seems, and when Jack is accused of murder, the trail leads back to the 1920s, to prohibition-era Norway, to the smugglers, sex workers and hoodlums of his criminal past ... and an extraordinary secret. Both a fascinating portrait of Oslo's interwar years, with Nazis operating secretly on Norwegian soil and militant socialists readying workers for war, The Assistant  is also a stunningly sophisticated, tension-packed thriller - the darkest of hard-boiled Nordic Noir - from one of Norway's most acclaimed crime writers. For fans of Sebastian Faulks, Lars Mytting, Mick Herron and Robert Harris. ------------------------ 'Kjell Ola Dahl doesn't write novels; he creates experiences by executing a strong sense of place of a spellbinding period that leaves its readers craving more' Books Technica 'Political, or intelligence thrillers are ten a penny. Dahl does something altogether different . lush, detailed and personal' Café Thinking Praise for Kjell Ola Dahl's The Courier 'Absorbing, heart-rending and perfectly plotted .' Denzil Meyrick 'Cleverly braiding together past and present, the who and why of murder and betrayal are unpicked. The detail is impressive' Daily Mail 'A dark but richly described backdrop and a relentless, underlying tension drive this sad story. Fans of Nordic Noir will be satisfied' Publishers Weekly 'Skilfully juggles three Oslo timelines . simply superb plotting and essential reading' The Times 'A truly eloquent and rewarding tale' LoveReading 'This stunning and compelling wartime thriller is reminiscent of the writing of John Le Carré and William Boyd' NB Magazine 'Masterful, detailed plotting. Dahl has given a complex, human face to such an inhuman tragedy' Crime Fiction Lover
€12.59
37 Reward Points
In stock online
Delivery in 2-3 working days
Eligible for free delivery

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

A seemingly straightforward investigation into marital infidelity leads a PI and his ex-con assistant on a murderous trail, in a sophisticated, riveting, cunningly plotted historical thriller set in interwar and prohibition-era Norway. 'An expertly crafted unravelling of mixed loyalties, love, lust, lies and trust, set against the background of a world increasingly on the edge of all-out war' John Harvey 'Dark, gritty and compulsive . feels like a classic of the genre' William Ryan 'A stylish standalone thriller . Dahl ratchets up the tension from the first pages and never lets go' Sunday Times ------------------------ Oslo, 1938. War is in the air and Europe is in turmoil. Hitler's Germany has occupied Austria and is threatening Czechoslovakia; there's a civil war in Spain and Mussolini reigns in Italy. When a woman turns up at the office of police-turned-private investigator Ludvig Paaske, he and his assistant - his one-time nemesis and former drug-smuggler Jack Rivers - begin a seemingly straightforward investigation into marital infidelity. But all is not what it seems, and when Jack is accused of murder, the trail leads back to the 1920s, to prohibition-era Norway, to the smugglers, sex workers and hoodlums of his criminal past ... and an extraordinary secret. Both a fascinating portrait of Oslo's interwar years, with Nazis operating secretly on Norwegian soil and militant socialists readying workers for war, The Assistant  is also a stunningly sophisticated, tension-packed thriller - the darkest of hard-boiled Nordic Noir - from one of Norway's most acclaimed crime writers. For fans of Sebastian Faulks, Lars Mytting, Mick Herron and Robert Harris. ------------------------ 'Kjell Ola Dahl doesn't write novels; he creates experiences by executing a strong sense of place of a spellbinding period that leaves its readers craving more' Books Technica 'Political, or intelligence thrillers are ten a penny. Dahl does something altogether different . lush, detailed and personal' Café Thinking Praise for Kjell Ola Dahl's The Courier 'Absorbing, heart-rending and perfectly plotted .' Denzil Meyrick 'Cleverly braiding together past and present, the who and why of murder and betrayal are unpicked. The detail is impressive' Daily Mail 'A dark but richly described backdrop and a relentless, underlying tension drive this sad story. Fans of Nordic Noir will be satisfied' Publishers Weekly 'Skilfully juggles three Oslo timelines . simply superb plotting and essential reading' The Times 'A truly eloquent and rewarding tale' LoveReading 'This stunning and compelling wartime thriller is reminiscent of the writing of John Le Carré and William Boyd' NB Magazine 'Masterful, detailed plotting. Dahl has given a complex, human face to such an inhuman tragedy' Crime Fiction Lover
Quantity:
In stock online
Delivery in 2-3 working days
Eligible for free delivery
37 Reward Points

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

€12.59
In stock online
Delivery in 2-3 working days
Eligible for free delivery
Quantity:
37 Reward Points

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

Product Description

Product Details