FREE CLICK & COLLECT SERVICE NOW AVAILABLE | SPEND €10 FOR FREE HOME DELIVERY

Texas

by Carmen Boullosa | 02 December 2014
Synopsis
"Mexico's greatest woman writer."-Roberto Bolaño "A luminous writer . . . Boullosa is a masterful spinner of the fantastic"-Miami Herald An imaginative writer in the tradition of Juan Rulfo, Jorge Luis Borges, and Cesar Aira, Carmen Boullosa shows herself to be at the height of her powers with her latest novel. Loosely based on the little-known 1859 Mexican invasion of the United States, Texas is a richly imagined evocation of the volatile Tex-Mex borderland. Boullosa views border history through distinctly Mexican eyes, and her sympathetic portrayal of each of her wildly diverse characters-Mexican ranchers and Texas Rangers, Comanches and cowboys, German socialists and runaway slaves, Southern belles and dancehall girls-makes her storytelling tremendously powerful and absorbing. Shedding important historical light on current battles over the Mexican-American frontier while telling a gripping story with Boullosa's singular prose and formal innovation, Texas marks the welcome return of a major writer who has previously captivated American audiences and is poised to do so again. Carmen Boullosa (b. 1954) is one of Mexico's leading novelists, poets, and playwrights. Author of seventeen novels, her books have been translated into numerous world languages. Recipient of numerous prizes and honors, including a Guggenheim fellowship, Boullosa is currently Distinguished Lecturer at City College of New York. Samantha Schnee is founding editor and chairman of the board of Words Without Borders . She has also been a senior editor with Zoetrope , and her translations have appeared in the Guardian , Granta , and the New York Times .
€16.79
50 Reward Points
In stock online
Delivery in 5-7 Days
Eligible for free delivery

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

Synopsis
"Mexico's greatest woman writer."-Roberto Bolaño "A luminous writer . . . Boullosa is a masterful spinner of the fantastic"-Miami Herald An imaginative writer in the tradition of Juan Rulfo, Jorge Luis Borges, and Cesar Aira, Carmen Boullosa shows herself to be at the height of her powers with her latest novel. Loosely based on the little-known 1859 Mexican invasion of the United States, Texas is a richly imagined evocation of the volatile Tex-Mex borderland. Boullosa views border history through distinctly Mexican eyes, and her sympathetic portrayal of each of her wildly diverse characters-Mexican ranchers and Texas Rangers, Comanches and cowboys, German socialists and runaway slaves, Southern belles and dancehall girls-makes her storytelling tremendously powerful and absorbing. Shedding important historical light on current battles over the Mexican-American frontier while telling a gripping story with Boullosa's singular prose and formal innovation, Texas marks the welcome return of a major writer who has previously captivated American audiences and is poised to do so again. Carmen Boullosa (b. 1954) is one of Mexico's leading novelists, poets, and playwrights. Author of seventeen novels, her books have been translated into numerous world languages. Recipient of numerous prizes and honors, including a Guggenheim fellowship, Boullosa is currently Distinguished Lecturer at City College of New York. Samantha Schnee is founding editor and chairman of the board of Words Without Borders . She has also been a senior editor with Zoetrope , and her translations have appeared in the Guardian , Granta , and the New York Times .
Quantity
Quantity
€16.79
50 Reward Points
In stock online
Delivery in 5-7 Days
Eligible for free delivery

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

Quantity
Quantity

Product Details

ISBN - 9781941920008
Format -
Publisher -
Published - 02/12/2014
Categories - All, Books, Fiction, Fiction A to Z, Contemporary Fiction
No. of Pages - 304
Weight - 11.5
Edition - First edition
Series - - Not Available
Page Size - 21
Language - en-US
Readership Age - Not Available
Table of Contents - Not Available

Delivery And Returns

Please Note: Items in our extended range may take longer to deliver. For this reason, we cannot guarantee delivery of this item before Christmas.

Place an order for over €10 to receive free delivery to anywhere in Ireland and the UK! See our Delivery Charges section below for a full breakdown of shipping costs for all destinations.

 

Delivery Charges

  Ireland & UK* Europe & USA Australia & Canada Rest of World
Under €10 €3.80 €10 €15 €25
Over €10
Free €10 €15 €25

*Free delivery on all orders over €10 - only applies to order total.

All orders will be delivered by An Post.