Out of the mountain's shadow

by Rose Alexander | 10 June 2021
PAPERBACK
A secret from the war with the power to change one woman's future. 1939: War has broken out, and in Albania Bekim's family take in a Jewish family fleeing from Nazi Austria. The years of war will shape his life in unimaginable ways as Bekim grows to love Hannelore, doing everything in his power to protect her. But will he be enough to keep her safe? 2019: Following a shock redundancy, Ruth is taking an extended holiday in southern Italy where she befriends local Zak. When Zak's dying father asks them to solve a mystery from his past, Ruth leaps at the chance. Journeying through his homeland of Albania, Ruth and Zak race to find the sacred artefacts hidden in the mountains during the war. A stunning and emotional novel of love and danger, perfect for fans of Lorna Cook and Rachel Hore. Praise for Out of the Mountain's Shadow 'I have to say this is one of the best World War II Historical Fiction books I have read. I have not read any others that take place in Albania. I loved all the characters in the book' ?????Reader review 'Powerful, gripping, and emotional. It's another look at the horrors of World War II and how simple ordinary people went to great lengths to protect those that were being persecuted. I highly recommend' ?????Reader review 'Outstanding - the best book I have read in a long time. Before reading this book I knew nothing about the history of Albania but learnt from reading this novel and it has instilled me to find out more. The characters were all very likeable.' ?????Reader review 'My first book by this author and what a revelation . a tale of courage, hope and love. It's quite a harrowing journey, and I'm so delighted to have had the privilege to be on it. This book has been executed with such fine detail I have absolutely nothing but 5-star praise for this book' ?????Reader review
€12.59
37 Reward Points
In stock online
Delivery in 2-3 working days
Eligible for free delivery

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

A secret from the war with the power to change one woman's future. 1939: War has broken out, and in Albania Bekim's family take in a Jewish family fleeing from Nazi Austria. The years of war will shape his life in unimaginable ways as Bekim grows to love Hannelore, doing everything in his power to protect her. But will he be enough to keep her safe? 2019: Following a shock redundancy, Ruth is taking an extended holiday in southern Italy where she befriends local Zak. When Zak's dying father asks them to solve a mystery from his past, Ruth leaps at the chance. Journeying through his homeland of Albania, Ruth and Zak race to find the sacred artefacts hidden in the mountains during the war. A stunning and emotional novel of love and danger, perfect for fans of Lorna Cook and Rachel Hore. Praise for Out of the Mountain's Shadow 'I have to say this is one of the best World War II Historical Fiction books I have read. I have not read any others that take place in Albania. I loved all the characters in the book' ?????Reader review 'Powerful, gripping, and emotional. It's another look at the horrors of World War II and how simple ordinary people went to great lengths to protect those that were being persecuted. I highly recommend' ?????Reader review 'Outstanding - the best book I have read in a long time. Before reading this book I knew nothing about the history of Albania but learnt from reading this novel and it has instilled me to find out more. The characters were all very likeable.' ?????Reader review 'My first book by this author and what a revelation . a tale of courage, hope and love. It's quite a harrowing journey, and I'm so delighted to have had the privilege to be on it. This book has been executed with such fine detail I have absolutely nothing but 5-star praise for this book' ?????Reader review
Quantity:
In stock online
Delivery in 2-3 working days
Eligible for free delivery
37 Reward Points

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

€12.59
In stock online
Delivery in 2-3 working days
Eligible for free delivery
Quantity:
37 Reward Points

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

Product Description

Product Details