Girls on the home front

by Annie Clarke | 30 May 2019
PAPERBACK
The first novel in the wonderful Factory Girls series. Perfect for fans of Nancy Revell and Ellie Dean. 'A brilliantly written and uplifting WWII story' Nancy Revell, author of the Shipyard Girls series 'A delightful authentic-feeling saga' Peterborough Telegraph 'Highlights the strength of women during the toughest of times.Clarke's love and respect for her family's roots really shines through' Culture Fly 'Beautifully written, the warmth shines from every page and the layers are as deep and rich as the coal seams the men work upon.' Frost Magazine _________________________________________ August 1941: As war sweeps across Britain and millions of men enlist to serve their country, it's up to the women to fight the battle on the home front. Fran always thought she would marry her childhood sweetheart and lead a simple life in Massingham, the beloved pit village she has always called home. But with war taking so many men to the front line, the opening of a new factory in the north-east of England presents an opportunity for Fran to forge a new path. Against her father's wishes and with best friends Sarah and Beth by her side, Fran signs up to join the ranks of women at the factory. It's dangerous work but as the three friends risk life and limb for their country, they will discover that their lives are only just beginning. ___________________________________________ Look out for the next book in the series, Heroes on the Home Front , available now!
€9.79
29 Reward Points
In stock online
Delivery in 2-3 working days

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

The first novel in the wonderful Factory Girls series. Perfect for fans of Nancy Revell and Ellie Dean. 'A brilliantly written and uplifting WWII story' Nancy Revell, author of the Shipyard Girls series 'A delightful authentic-feeling saga' Peterborough Telegraph 'Highlights the strength of women during the toughest of times.Clarke's love and respect for her family's roots really shines through' Culture Fly 'Beautifully written, the warmth shines from every page and the layers are as deep and rich as the coal seams the men work upon.' Frost Magazine _________________________________________ August 1941: As war sweeps across Britain and millions of men enlist to serve their country, it's up to the women to fight the battle on the home front. Fran always thought she would marry her childhood sweetheart and lead a simple life in Massingham, the beloved pit village she has always called home. But with war taking so many men to the front line, the opening of a new factory in the north-east of England presents an opportunity for Fran to forge a new path. Against her father's wishes and with best friends Sarah and Beth by her side, Fran signs up to join the ranks of women at the factory. It's dangerous work but as the three friends risk life and limb for their country, they will discover that their lives are only just beginning. ___________________________________________ Look out for the next book in the series, Heroes on the Home Front , available now!
Quantity:
In stock online
Delivery in 2-3 working days
29 Reward Points

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

€9.79
In stock online
Delivery in 2-3 working days
Quantity:
29 Reward Points

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

Product Description

Product Details