Diary of a void

by Emi Yagi | 11 August 2022
PAPERBACK
Discover this prizewinning, thrillingly subversive new novel that's perfect for fans of Convenience Store Woman and Breasts and Eggs . 'One of the most intriguing new novels of the summer,' Independent For the sake of women everywhere, Ms Shibata is going to pull off the mother of all deceptions... As the only woman in her office, Ms Shibata is expected to do all the menial tasks. One day she announces that she can't clear away her coworkers' dirty cups - because she's pregnant and the smell nauseates her. The only thing is . . . Ms Shibata is not pregnant. Pregnant Ms Shibata doesn't have to serve coffee to anyone. Pregnant Ms Shibata isn't forced to work overtime. Pregnant Ms Shibata can rest, watch TV, take long baths, and even join an aerobics class for expectant mothers. But she has a nine-month ruse to keep up. Before long, it becomes all-absorbing, and with the help of towel-stuffed shirts and a diary app that tracks every stage of her 'pregnancy', the boundary between her lie and her life begins to dissolve. Diary of a Void will keep you turning the pages to see just how far Ms Shibata will go. Translated from the Japanese by David Boyd and Lucy North 'Darkly funny and surprisingly tender.' Kirsty Logan, author of Things We Say in the Dark
€18.84
56 Reward Points
In stock online
Extended Range: Delivery in 2-3 working days
Free Delivery on this item

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

Discover this prizewinning, thrillingly subversive new novel that's perfect for fans of Convenience Store Woman and Breasts and Eggs . 'One of the most intriguing new novels of the summer,' Independent For the sake of women everywhere, Ms Shibata is going to pull off the mother of all deceptions... As the only woman in her office, Ms Shibata is expected to do all the menial tasks. One day she announces that she can't clear away her coworkers' dirty cups - because she's pregnant and the smell nauseates her. The only thing is . . . Ms Shibata is not pregnant. Pregnant Ms Shibata doesn't have to serve coffee to anyone. Pregnant Ms Shibata isn't forced to work overtime. Pregnant Ms Shibata can rest, watch TV, take long baths, and even join an aerobics class for expectant mothers. But she has a nine-month ruse to keep up. Before long, it becomes all-absorbing, and with the help of towel-stuffed shirts and a diary app that tracks every stage of her 'pregnancy', the boundary between her lie and her life begins to dissolve. Diary of a Void will keep you turning the pages to see just how far Ms Shibata will go. Translated from the Japanese by David Boyd and Lucy North 'Darkly funny and surprisingly tender.' Kirsty Logan, author of Things We Say in the Dark
Quantity:
In stock online
Extended Range: Delivery in 2-3 working days
Free Delivery on this item
56 Reward Points

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

€18.84
In stock online
Extended Range: Delivery in 2-3 working days
Free Delivery on this item
Quantity:
56 Reward Points

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

Product Description

Product Details