A marvellous light

by Freya Marske | 09 December 2021
Hardback
Set in an alternative Edwardian England, this is a comedy of manners, manor houses, and hedge mazes: including a magic-infused murder mystery and a delightful queer romance. 'Lush historical fantasy . . . A delightful book, with richly developed characters' - New York Times 'Mystery! Magic! Murder! . . . This book is a confection, both marvellous and light' - Alix E. Harrow, author of The Ten Thousand Doors of January For fans of Georgette Heyer or Julia Quinn's Bridgerton , who'd like to welcome magic into their lives . . . Young baronet Robin Blyth thought he was taking up a minor governmental post. However, he's actually been appointed parliamentary liaison to a secret magical society. If it weren't for this administrative error, he'd never have discovered the incredible magic underlying his world. Cursed by mysterious attackers and plagued by visions, Robin becomes determined to drag answers from his missing predecessor - but he'll need the help of Edwin Courcey, his hostile magical-society counterpart. Unwillingly thrown together, Robin and Edwin will discover a plot that threatens every magician in the British Isles. The Binding meets Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell in debut author Freya Marske's A Marvellous Light. 'A dazzling debut' - Shelley Parker-Chan, author of She Who Became the Sun 'Prepare to fall in love with the gorgeous Edwardian setting, the sizzling character dynamics, and the murderous enchanted hedge maze' - Emily Tesh, author of Silver in the Wood 'An absolute delight . . . If you ever wished Downton Abbey was sharper-edged and full of magic, this is the book for you' - Kat Howard, author of An Unkindness of Magicians
€23.79
71 Reward Points
In stock online
Delivery in 2-3 working days
Eligible for free delivery

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

Set in an alternative Edwardian England, this is a comedy of manners, manor houses, and hedge mazes: including a magic-infused murder mystery and a delightful queer romance. 'Lush historical fantasy . . . A delightful book, with richly developed characters' - New York Times 'Mystery! Magic! Murder! . . . This book is a confection, both marvellous and light' - Alix E. Harrow, author of The Ten Thousand Doors of January For fans of Georgette Heyer or Julia Quinn's Bridgerton , who'd like to welcome magic into their lives . . . Young baronet Robin Blyth thought he was taking up a minor governmental post. However, he's actually been appointed parliamentary liaison to a secret magical society. If it weren't for this administrative error, he'd never have discovered the incredible magic underlying his world. Cursed by mysterious attackers and plagued by visions, Robin becomes determined to drag answers from his missing predecessor - but he'll need the help of Edwin Courcey, his hostile magical-society counterpart. Unwillingly thrown together, Robin and Edwin will discover a plot that threatens every magician in the British Isles. The Binding meets Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell in debut author Freya Marske's A Marvellous Light. 'A dazzling debut' - Shelley Parker-Chan, author of She Who Became the Sun 'Prepare to fall in love with the gorgeous Edwardian setting, the sizzling character dynamics, and the murderous enchanted hedge maze' - Emily Tesh, author of Silver in the Wood 'An absolute delight . . . If you ever wished Downton Abbey was sharper-edged and full of magic, this is the book for you' - Kat Howard, author of An Unkindness of Magicians
Quantity:
In stock online
Delivery in 2-3 working days
Eligible for free delivery
71 Reward Points

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

€23.79
In stock online
Delivery in 2-3 working days
Eligible for free delivery
Quantity:
71 Reward Points

Any purchases for more than €10 are eligible for free delivery anywhere in the UK or Ireland!

Product Description

Product Details