FREE CLICK & COLLECT SERVICE NOW AVAILABLE | SPEND €10 FOR FREE HOME DELIVERY

EASON BOOK CLUB


Every month, we share our book recommendations with you through Eason Book Club. Chosen from our favourite reads, bestsellers and critically acclaimed books across all genres, we have something for all book lovers, no matter what you're into. Our Book Buyers will include a short review here to give you an insight into all the books featured. Look out for all Eason Book Club recommendations in-store at Eason or online at Easons.com.

EASON BOOK CLUB BOOK OF THE MONTH

In association with The Pat Kenny Show on Newstalk 106-108fm

The Pat Kenny Show on Newstalk 106-108 FM partners with the Eason Book Club to help us select our Book of the Month every month. On the first Monday of each month, Pat and his panel which is made up of former Fianna Fáil TD and author Mary O’Rourke, singer songwriter Brian Kennedy and actress Catherine Lynch, pick the Eason Book of the Month from a shortlist of four books compiled by the Eason book team. In the last week of every month the panel will return to discuss the book on air and engage in a lively debate on the characters and themes of the chosen book.

Country by Michael Hughes

That was the start of it. A terrible business altogether. Oh, it was all kept off the news, for the sake of the talks and the ceasefire. But them that were around that part of the country remember every bit. Wait now till you hear the rest. Northern Ireland, 1996. After twenty-five years of conflict, the IRA and the British have agreed an uneasy ceasefire, as a first step towards lasting peace. But if decades of savage violence are leading only to smiles and handshakes, those on the ground in the border country will start to question what exactly they have been fighting for.

Shop Now

Psychology of Time Travel by Kate Mascarenhas

A time travel murder mystery from a brilliantly original new voice. Perfect for readers of Naomi Alderman's The Power and Emily St John Mandel's Station Eleven . 1967: Four female scientists invent a time travel machine. They are on the cusp of fame: the pioneers who opened the world to new possibilities. But then one of them suffers a breakdown and puts the whole project in peril... 2017: Ruby knows her beloved Granny Bee was a pioneer, but they never talk about the past. Though time travel is now big business, Bee has never been part of it. Then they receive a message from the future - a newspaper clipping reporting the mysterious death of an elderly lady...

Shop Now

The Shoemaker And His Daughter by Conor O'Clery

The Soviet Union, 1962. Shoemaker Stanislav Suvorov is imprisoned for five years. His crime? Selling his car for a profit, contravening the Kremlin's strict laws of speculation. Laws which, thirty years later, his daughter Zhanna helps to unravel. In the new Russia, yesterday's crime is today's opportunity. On his release from prison, social shame drives Stanislav to voluntary exile in Siberia, moving his family from a relatively comfortable, continental life in Grozny, the capital of Chechnya, to frigid, farthest-flung Krasnoyarsk. For some, it is the capital of the gulag. For others, it is the chance to start over again.

Shop Now

The Accidental Further Aadventures Of The Hundred-Year-Old Man by Jonas Jonasson

The sequel to Jonas Jonasson's international bestseller The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared It all begins with a hot air balloon trip and three bottles of champagne. Allan and Julius are ready for some spectacular views, but they're not expecting to land in the sea and be rescued by a North Korean ship, and they could never have imagined that the captain of the ship would be harbouring a suitcase full of contraband uranium, on a nuclear weapons mission for Kim Jong-un . Soon Allan and Julius are at the centre of a complex diplomatic crisis involving world figures from the Swedish foreign minister to Angela Merkel and President Trump.

Shop Now